Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Friday, July 9, 2010

Ch. 14: Priesthood Organization

I know, you may have noticed that I haven't been reading a chapter a week as planned.  You know how that goes, things don't necessarily work out as planned.  At least I haven't given it all up all together!

from Gospel Principles:

There are two types of priesthood, Melchizedek and Aaronic.  The Aaronic Priesthood is an appendage to the Melchizedek Priesthood.  Those holding the Melchizedek Priesthood have the power and authority to lead the Church and direct the preaching of the gospel in all parts of the world.

Offices and duties of the Aaronic Priesthood:
  • Deacon:  ordained to a 12yo worthy young man.  Usually assigned to pass the sacrament, keep Church buildings and grounds in good order, act as messengers for priesthood leaders, and fulfill special assignments such as collecting fast offerings.
  • Teacher:  ordained to a 14yo worthy young man.  Duties, rights, and powers of deacon plus additional ones.  They are to help Church members live the commandments ... they are assigned to serve as home teachers.  They also prepare the bread and water for the sacrament service.
  • Priest:  ordained to a 16yo worthy young man.  Same as deacon and teacher plus additional.  They may baptize, administer the sacrament, ordain other priests, teachers, and deacons, may take charge of meetings when there is no Melchizedek Priesthood holder present.  He is to preach the gospel to those around him.
  • Bishop:  is ordained and set apart to preside over the Aaronic Priesthood in a ward.  He is the president of the priests quorum.  Under Aaronic Priesthood, he deals primarily with temporal matters such as administering finances and records and directing care for the poor and needy.  He is also ordained a high priest so he can preside over all members in the ward.  He is a judge in Israel and interviews members for temple recommends, priesthood ordinations, and other needs.  It is his right to have the gift of discernment.
The offices and duties of the Melchizedek Priesthood:
  • Elder quorum:  is instituted for standing ministers, but may travel.  Do most of their work near their homes.  Consist of up to 96 elders, presided over by a quorum presidency.
  • High Priests quorum:  includes all high priests residing within the boundaries of a stake, including patriarchs and bishops.  The stake president and his counselors are the presidency of this quorum.  The high priests in each ward are organized into a group with a group leader.
Please see the Gospel Principles link at sidebar to read this chapter in full ... soooo much information.  Anyway, I am certainly at awe at the organization of the Church.  All priesthood, right up to the president of the Church, does not get paid to serve.  If one studies how The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is organized, one could conclude that it is under the reign of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. You are fabulous! :)

Template by:
Free Blog Templates